Christopher Edge

Christopher Edge

Web:  http://www.christopheredge.co.uk/
Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/Christopher-Edge-211812802192983/
Twitter:  @edgechristopher

Christopher grew up in Manchester and before becoming an author worked as an English teacher and publisher – any job that let him keep a book close to hand. When not writing, he also works as a freelance education consultant and publisher. Christopher has also written publications about encouraging children to read.

“Christopher Edge really knows how to get boys reading.”
Gerry Swain, National Strategies, Programme Director – Secondary English

 

Books by Christopher Edge

The Jamie Drake Equation
Chrstopher Edge - The Jamie Drake Equation
Published March 2017 by Nosy Crow

Jamie’s dad is an astronaut. This is a good thing – because how cool is that? And a bad thing – because he’s going to be orbiting the Earth for several months and Jamie already misses him badly. Doing his homework at the observation lab one night, Jamie inadvertently picks up a weird signal on his mobile phone. Could it be from an alien civilisation with a message for humankind, a message that Jamie has to get to his father before it’s too late? But how do you rescue an astronaut without heading into space yourself?

 

 

 

How To Be A Young #Writer

Christopher Edge - How To Be A Young #Writer

Published January 2017 by Oxford University Press

This is an authoritative book from the word experts at Oxford to get budding writers crafting brilliant stories. It will help you think about how to develop an idea into a gripping and powerful story, with examples and tips from the best known authors to show you how it’s done. For children aged 11 and over, it covers all the key elements of plot, characterization, building a believable world, thinking about tone and style, weaving description into stories, through to endings and editing your work. Practical tips will get any struggling writer to beat the fear of the blank page and inspirational advice will help young authors to achieve their creative writing goals. It includes information on sharing stories and how to get people reading your work.

 

 

Christopher Edge - The Many Worlds of Albie Bright

 

The Many Worlds of Albie Bright

When Albie’s mum dies, it’s natural he should ask where she’s gone. His parents are both scientists and they usually have all the answers. Dad mutters something about quantum physics and parallel universes, so Albie gets a box, a laptop and a rotting banana, and sends himself through time and space in search of his mum.

Shortlisted for the Teach Primary New Children’s Fiction Award 2016

Published by Nosy Crow, 2016

 

 

How to Write Your Best Story Ever

Christopher Edge - How to Write Your Best Story Ever

Published May 2015 by Oxford University Press

This is a humorous and authoritative book that will awaken the author in every child, unlocking their story ideas and giving them hints and tips to create their own stories. For children aged 13 and under, this book is written in a fun, engaging, and inspirational style that will help all readers to see themselves as writers and help them to achieve their creative writing goals. It is ideal for home and schools, primary and lower secondary. The book is authoritative, linked to curriculum requirements, but not intimidating. From how to write for your audience or for a specific purpose, how to overcome writer’s block and how to write in different genres, to what words to use to best effect, this book gives children the tools they need to make writing an enjoyable experience. It is filled with tips on how to use wonderful and weird words, invent new words, and write powerful sentences using metaphors, similes, and idioms. Children will soon be creating stories that will stay with their writers and readers forever.

 

Christopher Edge - Twelve Minutes  Christopher Edge - Shadow of the Silver Screen  Christopher Edge - The Black Crow Conspiracy

The Penny Dreadful Mysteries
Book One: Twelve Minutes to Midnight
Book Two: Shadows of the Silver Screen
Book Three: The Black Crow Conspiracy

A three-book series for fans of Philip Reeve and Anthony Horowitz. Penelope Treadwell is the feisty thirteen-year-old orphan heiress of the bestselling magazine, The Penny Dreadful. Her masterly tales of the macabre are gripping Victorian Britain, even if no one knows she’s the real author. She, along with her uncle, her best friend Alfie, and the somewhat questionable actor Monty Maples must take on a variety of devilish plots and villainous adversaries in the course of this action-packed trilogy.

Books in the series have been shortlisted for; the Young Quills Award for Historical Fiction, the Phoenix Book Award, the Northern Ireland Book Award, the Dudley Teen Book Award, and the Redbridge Children’s Book Award.

Twelve Minutes to Midnight was also the winner of the Stockport Schools’ Book Award, and selected by the International Youth Library for The White Ravens 2013.

Published by Nosy Crow; 2012, 2013, 2014.

Christopher Edge - How to be a Hero

How to be a Hero
A stunning gift/information book for readers who love adventure.

An invaluable guide for any budding hero heading on a quest into fantastic lands. Mixing practical how-to information and advice drawing on folklore and fairy tales. Learn how to cross a troll bridge, how to slay a dragon and many other useful skills.

The Templar Company, 2012, World

 

edge-dead-ways    edge-army-of-the-dead

The Dead Ways

Book One: The Dead Ways
Book Two: Army of the Dead

The Government has a plan to clean up the environment – closing down motorways and returning the roads to nature. When Scott Williams’ father is found dead in his government office, Scott resolves to find out the truth behind his death. What he uncovers is a far-reaching and sinister conspiracy to open ancient lines of power sealing this world from the next. As the roads close, the dead will wake. Soon Scott is thrust headlong into a deadly race against time. It’ll be the end of the world if he loses. A chilling supernatural thriller, written in a fast-paced cinematic style, which will keep you on the edge of your seat.

Published by Catnip; 2011, 2012.

edge-how-to-make-money

 

How to Make Money

Published April 2012 by Scholastic

Find out how to make a million – and then multiply it. This book is the ultimate guide to becoming an entrepreneur. It is packed with money-making tips including how to make and sell apps, how to bargain at a market, and how to start a record label.

 

 

edge-assasins

 

i-ssassins
A teenage Spooks for the digital generation, i-SSASSINS is a gripping action-packed adventure.

Publisher: Heinemann (educational rights only)
All other rights: JBA

 

 

 

edge-santas-christmas-handbook

 

Santa’s Christmas Handbook
A humorous novelty title for readers aged 6+ – a helpful handbook for a rather hopeless Santa, written by his elves.

Published by Templar Publishing, 2011

 

 

Christopher Edge is represented at Jenny Brown Associates by Lucy – lucy@jennybrownassociates.com

,