Alanna Knight

Alanna Knight (1923–2020) was born on Tyneside of Scots-Irish parentage and remains one of the most popular authors in UK libraries. A leading crime writer, Alanna wrote three historical crime series: the Victorian detective Inspector Jeremy Faro, lady investigator Rose McQuinn, and time-traveller Tam Eildor. Her 60 published works also include romantic thrillers and historical novels. Alanna was an authority on Robert Louis Stevenson and her non-fiction includes true crime, ‘how to write’ guides and biographies.

Alanna was Hon President of Edinburgh Writers’ Club, Hon President and founder member of Scottish Association of Writers, member of Society of Authors and Crime Writers’ Association. She was awarded and MBE in 2014.

Alanna’s website:
Alana’s blog:

For all enquiries, contact Jenny Brown:

Books by Alanna

The Dower House Mystery – Rose McQuinn Series

Allison & Busby, 2019

York, 1907. Newly retired Inspector Faro is delighted at the prospect of staying in the Dower House, sited on a Roman villa once home to Emperor Severus. His wife, Imogen, travels ahead of him, looking forward to exploring the wonders of the historic city. A chance encounter with a young woman at a florist’s shop brings Imogen into contact with her long lost cousin Kathleen. The two women, overjoyed to have found one another, promise to stay in touch. But by the time Faro arrives in york, he finds Imogen distraught and desperately searching for Kathleen, who seems to have vanished without a trace…

Praise for Alanna Knight

“If Robert Louis Stevenson had written whodunits Faro is just the detective he’s have invented”. Sunday Post

Murder Lies Waiting – Rose McQuinn Series

Allison & Busby, 2018

1906. For Rose McQuinn, the invitation to holiday at a luxury hotel on the Isle of Bute is an unexpected delight until she discovers the real reason is to investigate a twenty-year-old non-proven murder case. With close links to a local family of ancient origin whose castle holds many dark secrets, Rose’s involvement in this challenge unleashes a web of intrigue and sinister happenings, something she realises too late when someone decides she is close enough to the truth not to leave the island alive.

The Balmoral Incident (#8) – Rose McQuinn Series

Allison & Busby, October 2014

Rose McQuinn is invited to stay with her friend Olive who has a small cottage on the Balmoral Estate. As Rose travels on the train with her trusty dog Vane and her niece Mabel, she wonders what exciting adventures await them at the Royal household. Little does she realise that within just 48 hours of their arrival, death will have visited the great castle. Can Rose find out what happened and prevent any more bloodshed?

Praise for The Balmoral Incident

Alanna Knight could hardly be better, with a crime novelist’s insight into motive and aftermath
Ian Rankin

Entertaining … with plenty of gothic mystery, period colour and even a soupcon of science fiction. Alanna Knight mixes the genres like a master chef
Historical Novels Review

All the mystery and intrigue of any Kathy Reichs or P. D. James story
Peterborough Evening Telegraph


Deadly Legacy (#7)

Allison & Busby, June 2012

Edinburgh, 1901. Rose McQuinn has agreed to help her neighbour, Mrs Lawers, by delivering what she claims to be a family legacy to her only living relative. Conveniently, the trip allows allow Rose to meet with Detective Inspector Jack Macmerry’s daughter to try and re-establish contact with her on his behalf. Soon, Rose’s philanthropic journey takes a turn towards the dangerous when she is attacked on a train and, on returning to Edinburgh, discovers Mrs Lawers and her maid are dead. Befriending a young first-time mother and investigating the history of Mrs Lawers’ family, Rose finds links not only between the two, but also to Royal history, London’s theatre community, and her own home in Solomon’s Tower. But when Jack is shot on duty, her attention shifts to him and his desire to get to know his daughter. Balancing the murder investigation alongside her obligations to family and friends, Rose discovers ties that reveal that the past has not completely left the present.


Inspector Faro Series
Murder Most Foul (#17)

Allison & Busby, January 2013

1861. When the body of an unknown woman is found in an Edinburgh close, Detective Constable Faro assumes the killing is a random act of violence – until he finds a playing card, the nine of diamonds, underneath her corpse. His superiors scoff at his suspicions of a serial killer, but days later a man is attacked in the street, and left badly bruised and battered with the nine of diamonds in his pocket. Faro believes there’s a connection. He must contend with other problems, though, if he is to solve the case. Detective Sergeant Gosse does his best to frame suspect after suspect, but remains constantly irritated by his detective constable. And although Faro’s sweetheart Lizzie loves him deeply, he is not sure if he feels the same way. And what of Inga St Ola, Faro’s first and only true love from his native Orkney? Amongst all this, a servant at Lizzie’s place of work goes missing. Could her disappearance be linked to the playing-card killer? Beset by hostile superiors and a police-hating public, Faro feels he may never crack this confounding case.

Praise for Murder Most Foul

Where better to place a Victorian detective than the streets of 19th century Edinburgh, with its elegant society masking the city s delinquent underbelly
Edinburgh Evening News

The book has been beautifully written and researched. Victorian Edinburgh has been recreated to thoroughly engage the reader with the characters and settings as they follow the intricacies of the plot
Historical Novels Review